Thomas Mann House Fellows


  • Prof. Dr. h.c. Ph.D. Jutta Allmendinger, president of the WZB Berlin Social Science Center
  • Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Heinrich Detering, professor of Modern German Literature and Comparative Literature
  • Burghart Klaußner, actor and author (postponed to 2019)
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Yiannos Manoli, director of the Fritz Huettinger Chair of Microelectronics and Director of the Hahn Schickard Institute of Micromachining and Information Technology
  • Dr. phil. Sylke Tempel (†), journalist and author


  • Dr. Armen Avanessian, philosopher
  • Dr. Damian Borth, director of the Deep Learning Competence Center, German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI)
  • Prof. Dr. Ilse Helbrecht, geographer, director of the Georg Simmel-Centre for Metropolitan Studies (GSZ)
  • Prof. Dr. Stefan Keppler-Tasaki, literary scholar
  • Burghart Klaußner, Actor and author
  • Prof. Dr. Frido Mann (Honorary Fellow), psychologist and author
  • Andreas Platthaus, journalist and author
  • Prof. Dr. Andreas Reckwitz, sociologist
    Dr. Lisa Riedner, social anthropologist


For more details regarding the application process, click here. Deadline for all applications was January 31, 2019.