The invention of the laser in the middle of the twentieth century was a quantum leap: light could now be tailored to specific needs, working very precisely and without physical contact. The advancement and acknowledgement of outstanding development and scientific work on the application or generation of laser light is one of the objectives of the Berthold Leibinger Stiftung.

The Berthold Leibinger Innovationspreis has been called for internationally since 2000. It was complemented in 2006 with the Berthold Leibinger Zukunftspreis for research. Both prizes are presented every two years at the award ceremony, an established event and meeting place of the large laser community of researchers and users with representatives of industry, politics, and society.

Your application or nomination

The Awards: Description and Basic Facts

The Innovationspreis

honors scientists and developers, who make advancements in the field of laser technology. Since 2000, the Berthold Leibinger Stiftung has awarded this prize every two years for excellent research and development work on the application or generation of laser light.

Among all applications and recommendations, the jury nominates the best and most deserving work in the field. The jury is made up of respected experts from science and industry. The finalists are invited by the Berthold Leibinger Stiftung to a jury meeting to present their work in person.

The Zukunftspreis

recognizes outstanding milestones in research, in this case, concerning the application or generation of laser light. Since 2006, it has been awarded every two years together with the Berthold Leibinger Innovationspreis.

There is no application process for the Berthold Leibinger Zukunftspreis. Candidates can be nominated by former members of the jury, previous prize winners, scientific societies and groups, as well as professional associations from around the world that focus on lasers or photonics.

Prize Money

Innovationspreis: First Prize: 50,000 € / Second Prize: 30,000 € / Third Prize: 20,000 €

Zukunftspreis: 50,000 €

Submission Deadline

the call for 2023 starts with the trade show LASER World of Photonics in Munich in 2022 and ends at March 1, 2023

PLEASE NOTE: Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the timeline of the laser prizes has been shifted by one year permanently.

Innovationspreis Application/Nomination

Zukunftspreis Nomination

The Award Ceremony

The next award ceremony will take place on September 22, 2023, in Ditzingen, Germany.

PLEASE NOTE: Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the timeline of the laser prizes has been completely shifted by one year. The 2020 prize winners and finalists were awarded in 2021.


The independent members of the jury are responsible for the selection of the prize winners of both the Berthold Leibinger Innovationspreis as well as the Berthold Leibinger Zukunftspreis.

Prof. Dr. Eckhard Elsen

DESY/Universität Hamburg, Director for Research and Computing of CERN (2016-2020),

Qihuang Gong

Department of Physics, Peking University

Prof. Dr. Holger Hanselka

President, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Prof. Dr. Stefan W. Hell

Director, Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry

Prof. Dr. H. Jeffrey Kimble

California Institute of Technology, Norman Bridge Laboratory of Physics

Dr. Carsten M. Philipp

Director of the Centre for Laser Medicine, Evangelische Elisabeth-Klinik, Berlin

Prof. Dr. Katarina Svanberg

Medical Laser Centre, Lund University

Dr. h. Ir. M.A. Martin van den Brink

President & CTO, ASML NV

Grazia Vittadini

CTO, Airbus S.A.S.

Prof. Dr. Otmar D. Wiestler

President, Helmholtz Association of German Research Centres

Listing of the former members of the jury



Dipl.-Phys. Sven Ederer

Tel: +49 7042 2607 182


pdf, 3.4MB

Brochure 2018