Sir David Payne is recipient of Berthold Leibinger Zukunftspreis 2020

"Erbium-Doped Fibre Amplifier (EDFA) and Pioneering Research in Fibre Optics Technology"

Professor Sir David Payne

Foto: University of Southampton

Professor Sir David Payne of the University of Southampton is the eighth recipient of the Berthold Leibinger Zukunftspreis. The jury of renowned international experts and industry leaders recognized Sir David’s work on the erbium-doped fiber amplifier (EDFA) and his pioneering research in fiber optics technology. 

Since the 1970s Sir David’s work spans many diverse areas of photonics, from telecommunications and optical sensors to nano photonics and optical materials. With his colleagues at the University of Southampton’s Optoelectronics Research Center he has made many of the key technical achievements in almost every area of optical fiber technologies and his work has had a direct impact on worldwide telecommunications, as well as nearly all fields of optical R&D. He is particularly noted for work on the erbium-doped fiber amplifier in telecommunications and high-power fiber lasers in material processing.

The Berthold Leibinger Stiftung is proud to present Professor Sir David Payne with the Berthold Leibinger Zukunftspreis. This highly esteemed prize also recognizes Sir David’s entrepreneurial spirit in initiating and sparking commercialization by founding a number of start-up companies, as well as his numerous collaborations with well-established tech-companies.


Eight finalists presented their work at the jury session for the Berthold Leibinger Innovationspreis 2020. All finalists and the selected prizewinners will receive their awards at the award ceremony on Friday, September 24, 2021.

The Finalists of the Berthold Leibinger Innovationspreis 2020

Prof. Dr. Bahram Javidi

University of Connecticut, Multidimensional Optical Sensing & Imaging Systems (MOSIS) Lab, Storrs, CT, USA

> Disease Identification with Low Cost Compact Field Portable 3D Optical Instrument <

Prof. Dr. Stephan Barcikowski, PD Dr. Bilal Gökce

University of Duisburg-Essen, Faculty of Chemistry & Center for Nanointegration Duisburg-Essen (CENIDE), Germany

> Scaled-up Nanoparticle Synthesis by Laser Ablation in Liquids for the Chemical Industry and Additive Manufacturing <

Dr. Daniel Brown, Dr. Alexander Schafgans, Dr. Yezheng Tao

ASML, The Netherlands & USA

> Breakthrough in Laser-Produced Plasma Source for Extreme Ultraviolet Lithography Scanner enabling High-Volume Manufacturing <

Dr. Mawuli Ametowobla, Dr. Holger Rumpf, Dr. Andreas Schatz, Ana-Paula Fonseca-Müller

Robert Bosch GmbH & Bosch Sensortec GmbH, Germany

> Laser ReSeal – Innovative Laser Machining for High Performance Inertial Sensors <

Dr. Stephan Brüning (1), Dr. Arnold Gillner (2), Dr. Keming Du (3)

(1) Schepers GmbH & Co KG, Vreden (2) Fraunhofer-Institut für Lasertechnik, Aachen (3) Edgewave GmbH, Würselen, Germany

> Multi Beam System and Process Technology for High Power Ultrashort Pulsed Laser Manufacturing <

Prof. Dr. Robert L. Byer (1), Prof. Dr. Peter Hommelhoff (2)

(1) Stanford University, Department of Applied Physics, USA (2) Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Department of Physics, Germany

> Particle Acceleration on a Chip <

Prof. Dr. Keisuke Goda (1,2), Dr. Nao Nitta (3)

(1) University of Tokyo, Serendipity Lab & Department of Chemistry, Japan (2) University of California, Los Angeles, Department of Bioengineering, USA (3) CYBO, Tokyo, Japan

> Intelligent Image-Activated Cell Sorter <

Dr. Moritz Kreysing

Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics, Dresden, Germany

> Focused Light Induced Cytoplasmic Streaming – FLUCS <

Final Date for Award Ceremony

Friday, September 24, 2021

The award ceremony of the Berthold Leibinger Innovationspreis and Zukunftspreis 2020 has to be postponed for the second time. It will finally take place on Friday, September 24, 2021 in Ditzingen. Bringing together many people from different countries to celebrate outstanding innovations in laser technology would still be impossible to achieve in June. 

The Zukunftspreis prize winner and all eight finalists of the innovation prize will be honored, and the three prize winners will finally be announced.