Eight finalists present their work at the jury session for the Berthold Leibinger Innovationspreis 2020. All finalists and the selected prizewinners will receive their awards at the award ceremony on Friday, June 18, 2021.

The jury session takes place on September 24.

The Finalists of the Berthold Leibinger Innovationspreis 2020

Prof. Dr. Stephan Barcikowski, PD Dr. Bilal Gökce

University of Duisburg-Essen, Faculty of Chemistry & Center for Nanointegration Duisburg-Essen (CENIDE), Germany

> Scaled-up Nanoparticle Synthesis by Laser Ablation in Liquids for the Chemical Industry and Additive Manufacturing <

Prof. Dr. Bahram Javidi

University of Connecticut, Multidimensional Optical Sensing & Imaging Systems (MOSIS) Lab, Storrs, CT, USA

> Disease Identification with Low Cost Compact Field Portable 3D Optical Instrument <

Dr. Daniel Brown, Dr. Alexander Schafgans, Dr. Yezheng Tao

ASML, The Netherlands & USA

> Breakthrough in Laser-Produced Plasma Source for Extreme Ultraviolet Lithography Scanner enabling High-Volume Manufacturing <

Dr. Mawuli Ametowobla, Dr. Holger Rumpf, Dr. Andreas Schatz, Ana-Paula Fonseca-Müller

Robert Bosch GmbH & Bosch Sensortec GmbH, Germany

> Laser ReSeal – Innovative Laser Machining for High Performance Inertial Sensors <

Dr. Stephan Brüning (1), Dr. Arnold Gillner (2), Dr. Keming Du (3)

(1) Schepers GmbH & Co KG, Vreden (2) Fraunhofer-Institut für Lasertechnik, Aachen (3) Edgewave GmbH, Würselen, Germany

> Multi Beam System and Process Technology for High Power Ultrashort Pulsed Laser Manufacturing <

Prof. Dr. Robert L. Byer (1), Prof. Dr. Peter Hommelhoff (2)

(1) Stanford University, Department of Applied Physics, USA (2) Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Department of Physics, Germany

> Particle Acceleration on a Chip <

Prof. Dr. Keisuke Goda (1,2), Dr. Nao Nitta (3)

(1) University of Tokyo, Serendipity Lab & Department of Chemistry, Japan (2) University of California, Los Angeles, Department of Bioengineering, USA (3) CYBO, Tokyo, Japan

> Intelligent Image-Activated Cell Sorter <

Dr. Moritz Kreysing

Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics, Dresden, Germany

> Focused Light Induced Cytoplasmic Streaming – FLUCS <

New Date für Award Ceremony

Friday, June 18, 2021

The award ceremony of the Berthold Leibinger Innovationspreis and Zukunftspreis 2020 will take place on Friday, June 18, 2021 in Ditzingen. Bringing together many people from different countries to celebrate outstanding innovations in laser technology would be impossible to achieve on the original date planed for (Sept. 24, 2020) due to the Corona related travelling restrictions and social distancing regulations. 

The new date on Friday, June 18, 2021, prior to the beginning of the international trade show LASER World of Photonics and the parallel scientific conferences has been chosen also considering the interest of international guests. This step has been agreed on with the Messegesellschaft München and the associations organizing the conferences.