Professor Dr. Xiaoliang Sunney Xie

Single-Molecule Biophysics and Non-Linear Optical Microscopy


First Prize

High-Precision Micromachining in Mass Production

Dr. Jens König, Dr. Markus Willert, Ulrich Graf, and Dr. Thorsten Bauer

Robert Bosch GmbH


Second Prize

VUV Lasers for Advanced Lithography

Dr. Richard L. Sandstrom und Dr. William Partlo

Cymer Inc., San Diego, USA


Third Prize

Development of CMOS Photonics: Silicon Based Transceivers

Dr. Cary Gunn

Luxtera Inc., Carlsbad, US


Third Prize

Laser Doppler Distance Sensor and its Applications

Professor Dr. Jürgen Czarske, Dr. Lars Büttner, and Dr. Thorsten Pfister Technische

University of Dresden


RevoLix 2 micrometer surgical cw-laser

RevoLix 2 micrometer surgical cw-laser

Dr. med. Hans Christoph Ludwig, Dr. med. Thorsten Knobloch, Prof. Dr. med. Veit Rohde
Neurochirurgische Klinik der Universitätsmedizin Göttingen, Germany

Dr. Heinrich-Otto Teichmann
LISA laser products OHG, Germany

Dr. med. Kevin Rostasy
Klinik für Pädiatrie, Medizinische Universität Innsbruck, Austria

Professor Dr. med. Andreas Gross
Asklepios Klinik Barmbek, Germany

Holographic Data Storage

Holographic Data Storage

Dr. Nicolas Stoeckel, Dr. Friedrich Bruder
Bayer MaterialScience AG, Germany

Dr. Kevin Curtis, Dr. Lisa Dhar, Dr. Adrian Hill, Dr. William Wilson
InPhase Technologies Inc., USA

Hybrid Analog-Digital and All-Digital Laser Beam Profiler

Hybrid Analog-Digital and All-Digital Laser Beam Profiler

Professor Dr. Nabeel Riza
College of Optics & Photonics CREOL, University of Central Florida, USA Nuonics Inc., USA

​RobScan - Robot-Guided Remote Scanner Laser Welding

RobScan - Robot-Guided Remote Scanner Laser Welding

Berthold Hopf and Dr. Klaus Debschütz
Daimler AG, Germany

Award Ceremony

Ceremonial award presentations and talks in a cordial atmosphere

The awards ceremony is a gathering place. On September 15, 2008, more than 250 guests accepted the invitation. The venue was the TRUMPF headquarters in Ditzingen. Professor Dr. Jürgen Mlynek, President of the Helmholtz Association, delivered a fascinating speech on “Big Science – Big Challenges“. Physics of a different kind was presented by the performers “Physikanten & Co.” with on-stage experiments about light.


27 images

Award Ceremony Berthold Leibinger Innovationspreis and Zukunftspreis 2008

Discover More

pdf, 1.8MB

Brochure 2008


Dipl.-Phys. Sven Ederer

Phone : +49 7156 303-35202