Dr. Osamu Kumagai

Multi-Wavelength Laser Diode for Backward Compatibility of Three Generations’ Optical Disc Systems


First Prize

Dense Wavelength Multiplexing of High Power Diode Laser

Dr. Tso Yee Fan, Dr. Antonio Sanchez-Rubio, and Dr. Bien Chann

Massachusetts Institut of Technology, TeraDiode Inc.


Second Prize

InnoSlab Laser

Project Group InnoSlab Laser

Fraunhofer Institute for Laser Technology, Edgewave GmbH and AMPHOS GmbH, Germany


Third Prize

Real-Time Control System for Laser Welding

Andreas Blug, Felix Abt, and Leonardo Nicolosi

Fraunhofer Institute for Physical Measurement Techniques IPM
Technische Universität Dresden, Germany


Finalists 2012

UV Microchip Laser for Refractive Eye Surgery

Project Group UV-Mikrochip

Project Group UV-Mikrochip

UV Microchip Laser Technology for Ultra-Precise Refractive Eye Surgery

Prof. Dr. Alfred Vogel (left), Dr. Norbert Linz, Sebastian Freidank
Institute of Biomedical Optics (BMO), University of Lübeck

Rolf Schwind (right), Stefan Schwed, Sebastian Faust
SCHWIND eye-tech-solutions GmbH & Co. KG

Laser Ablation Synthesis

Stephan Barcikowski and Niko Bärsch

Stephan Barcikowski and Niko Bärsch

Purity Counts: Laser Ablation Synthesis

Professor Dr. Stephan Barcikowski (center) and Dr. Niko Bärsch (left)
Particular GmbH, Langenhagen

Laser Based Remote Biomedical Monitoring

Javier Garcia and Zeev Zalevsky

Javier Garcia and Zeev Zalevsky

Laser Based Simultaneous Remote Biomedical Monitoring

Professor Dr. Javier Garcia
Universitat de València, Spain

Professor Dr. Zeev Zalevsky (right)
Bar-Ilan University, Israel

New Laser Processes in Photovoltaics

Project Group Laser Processes

Project Group Laser Processes

New Laser Processes in Photovoltaics

Professor Dr. Jürgen H. Werner, Dr. Jürgen R. Köhler, Dr. Sebastian Eisele, and Tobias Röder
University of Stuttgart, Institute of Physical Electronics

Award Ceremony

​High ranking guests from politics, industry and science, the arts, culture as well as representatives of churches and charity organizations celebrated the presentation of the laser awards on September 14, 2012 together with the twentieth anniversary of the foundation.

German Federal Minister of Education and Research, Professor Annette Schavan, as well as the Minister of Science, Research and the Arts of Baden-Württemberg, Theresia Bauer, spoke some words of welcome in front of 550 guests at the TRUMPF “Blautopf” in Ditzingen. The Japanese ambassador Takeshi Nakane honored the prizewinner of the Zukunftspreis with a short welcome address.


25 images

Award Ceremony Berthold Leibinger Innovationspreis and Zukunftspreis 2012

Discover More

pdf, 3.6MB

Brochure 2012


Dipl.-Phys. Sven Ederer

Phone: +49 7156 303-35202