Professor Dr. Gérard Mourou

Invention of the Chirped Pulse Amplification (CPA) and Pushing the Frontier on Extreme Light


First Prize

Membrane-Free Optical Microphone

Dr. Balthasar Fischer

XARION Laser Acoustics GmbH, Austria


Second Prize

Substrate-Transferred Crystalline Coatings – a New Paradigm in Laser-Based Precision Measurement and Instrumentation

Dr. Garrett Cole und Prof. Dr. Markus Aspelmeyer

Crystalline Mirror Solutions GmbH and University of Vienna, Austria


Second Prize

Development of a Direct Laser Interference Patterning (DLIP) Systems

Project Group: Direct Laser Interference Patterning

Saarland University, Steinbeis Forschungszentrum Material Engineering Center Saarland (MECS), Technische Universität Dresden, Fraunhofer-Institut für Werkstoff- und Strahltechnik IWS


Third Prize

Lasers as Guide Stars for the VLT and other Large and Extremely Large Telescopes (ELT)

Laser Guide Star Alliance

TOPTICA Photonics AG, Germany, MPB Communications Inc., Canada, European Southern Observatory (ESO)



Next to the prize winners, the following finalists were awarded

BioRam® for label-free single cells

Karin and Raimund Schütze

Karin and Raimund Schütze

BioRam® for label-free single cells analysis in 2D cell cultures, 3D tissue and even in fluids

Dr. Karin Schütze (center) and Raimund Schütze (right)
CellTool GmbH, Bernried, Germany

Laser Bonding for Flexible Packaging

Project Group Laser Bonding

Project Group Laser Bonding

Laser Bonding: Extending the Limits of Flexible Packaging in Electromobility and Power Electronics

Dr. Alexander Olowinsky (left), Benjamin Mehlmann, Dr. Arnold Gillner
Fraunhofer Institute for Laser Technology, Aachen, Germany

André Häusler, Dr. Josef Sedlmair Germany (right)
F&K Delvotec Bondtechnik GmbH, Ottobrunn, Germany

Laser Based Remote Bio-Sensing and Authentication

Zeev Zalevsky and Javier Garcia-Monreal

Zeev Zalevsky and Javier Garcia-Monreal

Laser Based Remote Bio-Sensing and Authentication

Prof. Dr. Zeev Zalevsky (right)
Faculty of Engineering, Bar-Ilan University, Ramat-Gan, Israel

Prof. Dr. Javier Garcia-Monreal
Departamento de Óptica, Universitat de València, Burjassot, Spain

Rapid Infrared Laser Microscopy

Wolfgang Petrich and Nils Kröger-Lui

Wolfgang Petrich and Nils Kröger-Lui

​Rapid Infrared Laser Microscopy

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Petrich (left) and Dr. Nils Kröger-Lui (right)
Kirchhoff-Institute for Physics, University of Heidelberg, Germany

Award Ceremony

Ceremonial Act and International Gathering

The ninth award ceremony with the presentations of the Berthold Leibinger Innovationspreis and the Berthold Leibinger Zukunftspreis 2016 took place on the evening of September 9, 2016.

The event was opened by our founder and former managing partner of the Trumpf Group, Professor Berthold Leibinger. He was very pleased to see that the auditorium was filled to the last seat. “The Berthold Leibinger Innovationspreis is the most important work of this foundation, and so I am grateful to see that the awards ceremony is receiving so much attention from the general public.” Following his speech, Elizabeth Rogan, Chief Executive Officer of OSA The Optical Society, gave a history of the innovations that have been made in optics and photonics over the last 100 years.

Professor Friedemann Schrenk, Head of the Paleoanthropology Section of the Senckenberg Gesellschaft für Naturforschung (Senckenberg Society for Nature Research) in Frankfurt, held the ceremonial address. In his presentation “Origins, Breakthroughs, Expansions: 6 Million Years of Human History,” he talked about the latest findings on the evolutionary development of early humans. He had a surprising message for the audience: the differentiation of prehistoric humans from their ancestors did not only happen through a use of tools, it was based on the ability to work together socially. He also discussed the subject of migration. Since prehistoric times, a number of migration waves across the globe have shaped humanity and led to its further development. “According to an anthropological time scale, migration barriers do not exist, there is only a joint development of humanity,” Prof. Schrenk said.


25 images

Award Ceremony Berthold Leibinger Innovationspreis and Zukunftspreis 2016

Discover More

pdf, 3.6MB

Brochure 2016


Dipl.-Phys. Sven Ederer

Tel: +49 7156 303-35202