I said, 'Auf Wiedersehen'

85 years of Kindertransport to Great Britain

By viewing the video, you agree that your data will be transmitted to YouTube and that you have read the privacy policy.

white rectangle
white rectangle

85 years ago, over 10,000 mostly Jewish children had to say goodbye to their families. It was a farewell that enabled the children to escape Nazi persecution. They arrived in Great Britain on the so-called Kindertransport in 1938/39 and were placed in foster families or shared accommodation. Parents and children hoped that they would soon be reunited.

I said, 'Auf Wiedersehen'

The initiative to save mainly Jewish children and young people from National Socialist persecution is the focus of the exhibition I said, 'Auf Wiedersehen' in the Paul-Löbe-Haus of the German Bundestag from 31.01. - 23.02.24. The exhibition presents selected letters from five Jewish families - five documents are shown in the original. Each document conveys an aspect of the painful separation of parents and children. The letters provide an insight into the ambivalent emotions of the parents left behind in the Nazi state, who vacillate between the hope of a reunion and the fear of permanent separation.

© Courtesy of Raymond Gilbert

Farewell: Ursula Brann

Ursula Brann came to England on the Kindertransport in 1939. In an autobiographical interview (2007), she reads ten of her father Ferdinand's guiding principles from a prayer book. She received this as a gift from him when she said goodbye. The book was lost after her death. Ursula's parents and her sister remained in Berlin until 1943 and were eventually deported to Auschwitz and murdered. Ursula remained in London for the rest of her life. She died in 2015.

By viewing the video, you agree that your data will be transmitted to YouTube and that you have read the privacy policy.

white rectangle
white rectangle
© AJR Refugee Voices Archive/Association of Jewish Refugees
© The Vienna Holocaust Library Collections

New home: Ilse Majer

Ilse Majer was sent on a Kindertransport from Vienna to England in 1939 when she was ten years old. The correspondence between Ilse's parents Berthold and Lilly Majer and her foster parents gives an insight into Ilse's new world: friendships, language, intellectual development.

In June 1942, Ilse's parents were deported to the Izbica ghetto in Poland and later murdered. Ilse remained in England until she died in 2003.

© Yad Vashem, with kind permission of Henry Foner

Alienation: Heinz Lichtwitz

In February 1939, Heinz Lichtwitz escaped at the age of six on a Kindertransport to Wales. Heinz took the name Henry Foner and almost completely lost his mother tongue within a few months. The cards express his father's love, but also his concern about his son's alienation. ‍

Max Lichtwitz was deported to Auschwitz in December 1942 and murdered. Henry Foner is now 90 years old and lives in Jerusalem.

By viewing the video, you agree that your data will be transmitted to YouTube and that you have read the privacy policy.

white rectangle
white rectangle
© The Vienna Holocaust Library Collections

Longing: Gerda Stein

Gerda Stein arrived in England on a children's transport in March 1939. She lived there with Trevor Chadwick, who helped organize her transport and rescued many other children from Czechoslovakia. Her father Arnold sent his daughter letters with drawings, Gerda's mother Erna wrote her poems: signs of her desperate efforts to encourage her child.

Neither of her parents survived the Holocaust. Gerda died in 2021 as a recognized poet.

© Courtesy of private archive of Ann Kirk/ Association of Jewish Refugees

Uncertainty: Hannah Kuhn

Hannah Kuhn, born in 1928, fled from Berlin to England on a Kindertransport in April 1939. Hannah's parents Herta and Franz Kuhn were in contact with their daughter and her foster mothers, first via letters and later via telegrams from the German Red Cross.

Both her parents were murdered in Auschwitz. Hannah Kuhn is now called Ann Kirk and lives in London. In preparation for this exhibition, we visited Ann in London.

By viewing the video, you agree that your data will be transmitted to YouTube and that you have read the privacy policy.

white rectangle
white rectangle

The exhibition of the Berthold Leibinger Stiftung is curated by Ruth Ur and was created in cooperation with the Freundeskreis Yad Vashem e.V., the International Holocaust Memorial Yad Vashem, the Wiener Holocaust Library, the Association of Jewish Refugees and the German Bundestag.

Under the patronage of

Jill Gallard CMG CVO, Ambassador of the United Kingdom to Germany

Miguel Berger, Ambassador of the Federal Republic of Germany to the United Kingdom

When, how, where?

When

The exhibition will be on display in the hall of the Paul-Löbe-Haus from January 31 to February 23, 2024. It can be visited Monday to Friday from 9 am to 6 pm. On Thursdays, the exhibition is open from 9 am to 7 pm.

Visit

To visit the exhibition, you must register by e-mail to ausstellungen(at)bundestag.de or via the Bundestag website at least two working days before the desired visit date.

For organizational reasons, visits can only begin on the hour. The latest start time for visits is 5 p.m. and 6 p.m. on Thursdays.

Where

The exhibition is accessible via the west entrance of the Paul-Löbe-Haus, Konrad-Adenauer-Str. 1, 10557 Berlin. Please meet the staff at the West Entrance 15 minutes before your visit to allow sufficient time for admission control.

Guided tours

Tuesdays 11 am

Wednesdays 11 am and 3 pm

Thursdays 6 pm

You can register for the guided tours using the registration form, stating the time of the desired tour.

I said, ‘Auf Wiedersehen’

85 Jahre Kindertransport nach Großbritannien

Mit dem Aufruf des Videos erklären Sie sich einverstanden, dass Ihre Daten an YouTube übermittelt werden und Sie die Datenschutzerklärung gelesen haben.

weisses Rechteck
weisses Rechteck

85 Jahre ist es her, dass sich über 10.000 meist jüdische Kinder von ihren Familien verabschieden mussten. Es war ein Abschied, der den Kindern die Flucht vor der nationalsozialistischen Verfolgung ermöglichte. Mit dem sogenannten Kindertransport kamen sie 1938/39 nach Großbritannien und wurden in Pflegefamilien oder Gemeinschaftsunterkünften untergebracht. Eltern und Kinder hofften auf ein baldiges Wiedersehen.

I said, ´Auf Wiedersehen´

Die Initiative zur Rettung von überwiegend jüdischen Kindern und Jugendlichen vor nationalsozialistischer Verfolgung steht vom 31.01. - 23.02.24 im Mittelpunkt der Ausstellung I said, ´Auf Wiedersehen´ im Paul-Löbe-Haus des Deutschen Bundestags. Die Ausstellung präsentiert ausgewählte Briefe von fünf jüdischen Familien – fünf Dokumente werden im Original gezeigt. Jedes Dokument vermittelt einen Aspekt der schmerzhaften Trennung von Eltern und Kindern. Die Briefe geben Einblick in die ambivalenten Emotionen der im NS-Staat zurückgebliebenen Eltern, die zwischen der Hoffnung auf ein Wiedersehen und der Sorge vor permanenter Trennung schwanken.

© Courtesy of Raymond Gilbert

Abschied: Ursula Brann

Ursula Brann kam 1939 mit dem Kindertransport nach England. In einem autobiographischen Interview (2007) liest sie aus einem Gebetbuch zehn Leitsätze ihres Vaters Ferdinand vor. Dieses bekam sie beim Abschied von ihm geschenkt. Nach ihrem Tod ging das Buch verloren. Ursulas Eltern und ihre Schwester blieben bis 1943 in Berlin und wurden schließlich nach Auschwitz deportiert und ermordet. Ursula blieb ihr Leben lang in London. Sie starb 2015.

Mit dem Aufruf des Videos erklären Sie sich einverstanden, dass Ihre Daten an YouTube übermittelt werden und Sie die Datenschutzerklärung gelesen haben.

weisses Rechteck
weisses Rechteck
© AJR Refugee Voices Archive/Association of Jewish Refugees
© The Wiener Holocaust Library Collections

Neues Zuhause: Ilse Majer

Ilse Majer wurde als Zehnjährige 1939 mit einem Kindertransport von Wien nach England geschickt. Der Briefwechsel zwischen Ilses Eltern Berthold und Lilly Majer und den Pflegeeltern gibt einen Einblick in Ilses neue Welt: Freundschaften, Sprache, intellektuelle Entwicklung.

Im Juni 1942 wurden Ilses Eltern ins Ghetto Izbica nach Polen deportiert und später ermordet. Ilse blieb in England, bis sie 2003 starb.

© Yad Vashem, mit freundlicher Genehmigung von Henry Foner

Entfremdung: Heinz Lichtwitz

Im Februar 1939 entkam Heinz Lichtwitz im Alter von sechs Jahren mit einem Kindertransport nach Wales. Heinz nahm den Namen Henry Foner an und verlernte seine Muttersprache innerhalb weniger Monate fast vollständig. Aus den Karten spricht die Liebe seines Vaters, aber auch die Sorge vor der Entfremdung seines Sohns. ‍

Max Lichtwitz wurde im Dezember 1942 nach Auschwitz deportiert und ermordet. Henry Foner ist heute 90 Jahre alt und lebt in Jerusalem.

Mit dem Aufruf des Videos erklären Sie sich einverstanden, dass Ihre Daten an YouTube übermittelt werden und Sie die Datenschutzerklärung gelesen haben.

weisses Rechteck
weisses Rechteck
© The Wiener Holocaust Library Collections

Sehnsucht: Gerda Stein

Gerda Stein gelangte im März 1939 mit einem Kindertransport nach England. Sie lebte dort bei Trevor Chadwick, der ihren Transport mitorganisierte und viele weitere Kinder aus der Tschechoslowakei rettete. Vater Arnold schickte seiner Tochter mit Zeichnungen versehene Briefe, Gerdas Mutter Erna schrieb ihr Gedichte: Zeichen des verzweifelten Bemühen, ihrem Kind Mut zu machen.

Beide Eltern überlebten den Holocaust nicht. Gerda starb 2021 als anerkannte Dichterin.

© Courtesy of private archive of Ann Kirk/ Association of Jewish Refugees

Ungewissheit: Hannah Kuhn

Die 1928 geborene Hannah Kuhn floh im April 1939 mit einem Kindertransport von Berlin nach England. Hannahs Eltern Herta und Franz Kuhn waren erst mittels Briefen, später über Telegramme des Deutschen Roten Kreuzes im Austausch mit ihrer Tochter und deren Pflegemüttern.

Beide Eltern wurden in Auschwitz ermordet. Hannah Kuhn heißt heute Ann Kirk und lebt in London. In Vorbereitung auf diese Ausstellung haben wir Ann in London besucht.

Mit dem Aufruf des Videos erklären Sie sich einverstanden, dass Ihre Daten an YouTube übermittelt werden und Sie die Datenschutzerklärung gelesen haben.

weisses Rechteck
weisses Rechteck

Die Ausstellung der Berthold Leibinger Stiftung wird kuratiert von Ruth Ur und entstand in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Freundeskreis Yad Vashem e.V., der Internationalen Holocaust Gedenkstätte Yad Vashem, der Wiener Holocaust Library, der Association of Jewish Refugees und dem Deutschen Bundestag.

Unter der Schirmherrschaft von

Jill Gallard CMG CVO, Botschafterin des Vereinigten Königreichs in Deutschland

Miguel Berger, Botschafter der Bundesrepublik Deutschland im Vereinigten Königreich

Wann, wie, wo?

Wann

Die Ausstellung wird vom 31. Januar bis zum 23. Februar 2024 in der Halle des Paul-Löbe-Hauses gezeigt. Sie kann montags bis freitags von 9 bis 18 Uhr besucht werden. Donnerstags ist die Ausstellung von 9 bis 19 Uhr geöffnet.

Besuch

Für den Besuch der Ausstellung ist spätestens zwei Werktage vor dem gewünschten Besuchstermin eine Anmeldung per E-Mail an ausstellungen(at)bundestag.de oder über die Website des Bundestags notwendig.

Aus organisatorischen Gründen ist ein Besuchsbeginn jeweils nur zur vollen Stunde möglich. Spätester Besuchsbeginn ist jeweils 17 Uhr und am Donnerstag jeweils 18 Uhr.

Wo

Die Ausstellung ist über den Westeingang des Paul-Löbe-Hauses, Konrad-Adenauer-Str. 1, 10557 Berlin zugänglich. Bitte finden Sie sich 15 Minuten vor dem Besuchstermin beim Personal der Westpforte ein, damit ausreichend Zeit für die Einlasskontrolle besteht.

Führungen

Dienstags 11 Uhr

Mittwochs 11 Uhr und 15 Uhr

Donnerstags 18 Uhr

Zu den Führungen können Sie sich mit dem Anmeldeformular unter Angabe der Uhrzeit der gewünschten Führung anmelden.